View Full Version : pimp your ride
redhotdj
09-11-2005, 07:45 AM
:travis: hi everyone ive got a question that hopefully someone can answer the other day i was reading and thread in the gaoc about pimp your ride well i went to the site filled out the form and today i get a email back saying congratulations you have been chosen WOW iam going pretty cool but heres the kicker they ask you to go to another site fill out some more info about you and your car then at the end of all that they ask for your credit card number now remember iam only in the running they , after filling out all of the rest of the info they will go over it and let me know if i will be picked for a sponsorship they said your card will not be charged unless you are awarded a sponsorship contract at $500.00 or more my point is shouldnt they just let me know yes or no and why charge $89.00 your being awarded something why pay for it HELP :usa2: jack
MikeNice
09-11-2005, 08:24 AM
I got that same email today, too. It said I was accepted and that I had to go to the webpage and fill out a more detailed app. Then they also wanted the $89 from me. I turned it down b'c just about everyone I know that has done this only got a $500 gift certificate to decalkits.com. I really don't want/need anything from there. Also, I was reading more of the terms and service and the other mian thing they give out is a gift certificate to B-gsuspension.com. The only thing they have for 99+ GA's is a set of springs which I, again, don't need. I just don't feel like paying $89 for a surprise grab bag. If there's something I DO want, I'll just put that $89 towards it.
I think what they should do is tell you want you've "won" and then IF you accept, then pay the $89.
Bouchie11982
09-11-2005, 08:40 AM
dont u mean www.carsponsorship.com (or something like that)
MikeNice
09-11-2005, 08:42 AM
Originally posted by Bouchie11982
dont u mean www.carsponsorship.com (or something like that)
Yeah but they had a "Pimp My Ride" promotion.
tenspeed
09-11-2005, 08:46 AM
Originally posted by redhotdj
:travis: Hi everyone. I've got a question that hopefully someone can answer. The other day, I was reading a thread in the GAOC about pimp your ride. Well I went to the site, filled out the form and today I get a email back saying "Congratulations, you have been chosen!" WOW! I am going, pretty cool, but here's the kicker, they ask you to go to another site, fill out some more info about you and your car, then at the end of all that, they ask for your credit card number.
Now remember, I am only in the running. After filling out all of the rest of the info, they will go over it and let me know if I will be picked for a sponsorship.
They said your card will not be charged unless you are awarded a sponsorship contract at $500.00 or more. My point is, shouldn't they just let me know yes or no and why charge $89.00. You're being awarded something, why pay for it? HELP! :usa2: jack
My guess is that anyone who fills out the form can expect a $500 contract and will be charged $89. Of course, the contract will cost them less that $89 so they can make a profit. You can also expect your email address will be sold to everybody and you will be soon be receiving offers for mortgages, low car insurance rates, fake Rolex watches, diet pills, breast enlargement creams, prayer chain letters and every other scam email that anyone can think of.
JoeyK
09-11-2005, 08:52 AM
Lol, oh no. I always wondered what thier catch was.
redhotdj
09-11-2005, 06:29 PM
my thinking is this if you get a sponsor they pick up the tab
i thought someone in gaoc got some sponsoring from this and i wondering how it worked for them sounds like a scam to me iam not going to give anyone my credit card number unless i know what iam getting:usa2:
MikeNice
09-11-2005, 06:52 PM
Originally posted by redhotdj
iam not going to give anyone my credit card number unless i know what iam getting:usa2:
:agree: :agree: :agree:
Big Joe
09-11-2005, 09:15 PM
yeah I got the email too It seemed a little funny
Mike94SE
09-12-2005, 01:58 AM
Ask him how it went
http://www.gaownersclub.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39731
MikeNice
09-12-2005, 06:18 AM
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2kGAGT
09-13-2005, 03:12 PM
I filled out the same application and i got a sponsorship from Decalkits.com and its well worth the 89 dollars, its pretty easy to do and i think its well worth the 89 dollars, especially if you sign up for a HIN show and you can get awarded a 7,000 dollar sponsorship. With that bein said..would you rather pay 7,000 dollars for the same upgrades or pay 89 dollars for the upgrades??
MikeNice
09-14-2005, 07:40 PM
And you chances of getting $7,000 are...?
1 in a million? DING DING DING, we have a winner!
VanishingImage
09-14-2005, 07:58 PM
1 simple rule,you should never have to pay to be sponsered. Now in return in being sponsered you will have to attend shows here and there but they will usually be in the state in which you live. Personall,Id rather do everything on my own,makes me feel good about the work I do and makes it more worth while. Most of the time you should be able to get discounts,but once again,should never have to pay anything. A bunch of decals to me is not worth 89 bucks
SideShowFreaks4
09-15-2005, 09:35 AM
I know a guy from work, who did it got the certificate for decalkits.com, and cirtificates for a few other places, in his opinion it was Well worth it, he also got a discount on some "Lambo Doors" was almost 30%, i believe is what he siad.
erimar77
09-15-2005, 10:16 AM
if you guys are looking for some free swag... send an email to k&n filters, they'll give you an envelope with like 5~6 stickers in there, large and small ones.
SikMindz
09-15-2005, 11:40 AM
It's all a ****in' scam. Sorry to be realistic but it's a crock of shit that you're sponsored. If you really think that you are getting "sponsored" and hooked up through these deals you're a schmuck and I have a $20 eBay chip for your car that will net you ~20HP.
And before you head to shows to represent your "sponsors" make sure you check your blinker fluid so it doesn't leak.
Big Joe
09-15-2005, 11:59 AM
Originally posted by SikMindz
And before you head to shows to represent your "sponsors" make sure you check your blinker fluid so it doesn't leak.
Dam it, I knew somthing was wrong with my blinker. Do you no where the blinker fluid can be filled at on my car? :D
speedgagt
09-22-2005, 07:11 PM
I have a 96 grand am gt what is a nice and cheeper body kit web site to go to
Big Joe
09-22-2005, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by speedgagt
I have a 96 grand am gt what is a nice and cheeper body kit web site to go to
Wow where did that come from man your way off topic
MikeNice
09-22-2005, 09:46 PM
LMFAO!
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.