PDA

View Full Version : AOL email accounts


sunrunner_pei
01-03-2007, 01:39 PM
For an unexplained reason, AOL is blocking all email originating from gaownersclub.com. This means that anyone who registered with this address is not able to receive the activation email in order to activate their account.

Because of this we are no longer accepting new registrations with aol.com email addresses. If you are an AOL user and wish to join the forums, you will have to use a free email provider, such as Yahoo! (http://www.yahoo.com), Hotmail (http://www.hotmail.com), or Gmail (http://www.gmail.com), etc.

Existing users will be able to keep their AOL addresses, but will not receive any mailings from this site (topic reply notifications, PM notifications, etc.).

We apologize for this inconvenience, but until AOL allows email from our domain, we have no choice.

iceman
01-03-2007, 01:43 PM
Strange... what do the NDR's look like or do you not get any? Do you guys have an SPF record set up for gaownersclub.com ?

Jchiasson
01-03-2007, 01:51 PM
I would hope that no NDR's are received as those are as bad as the spam its self.

iceman
01-03-2007, 01:56 PM
Uhhh, no. NDRs are good, tell you what the problem is. No NDR = being flagged as spam, harder to deal with, although both are simple issues.

Shawn, AOL is big w/ SPF records, you guys don't have one.. try that out. also some contact info on postmaster.aol.com

ephiny526
01-03-2007, 02:42 PM
i noticed that aol blocks a lot of validation emails. i run a board on suddenlauch, and no one who has aol gets the activation email. it's really difficult for the members who use aol religiously.

sunrunner_pei
01-03-2007, 02:43 PM
Originally posted by iceman
Uhhh, no. NDRs are good, tell you what the problem is. No NDR = being flagged as spam, harder to deal with, although both are simple issues.

Shawn, AOL is big w/ SPF records, you guys don't have one.. try that out. also some contact info on postmaster.aol.com

Thanks Seth. A SPF record has been created for each of our domains. I'll contact AOL again tomorrow and see if I can be taken off their blacklist. *sigh*

urweak
01-03-2007, 04:00 PM
Yea, i have AOL and ive had numerious emails never get to me, after repeated attempts at sending them.

iceman
01-03-2007, 06:01 PM
Originally posted by sunrunner_pei
Thanks Seth. A SPF record has been created for each of our domains. I'll contact AOL again tomorrow and see if I can be taken off their blacklist. *sigh*

I see it now, the record you have:

v=spf1 a mx ~all

if your mail originates from any other host identifying itself as "gaownersclub.com" or 207.210.111.76 it will get blocked from recipients checking spf records. If I were you, for safe measure, I'd define your mail servers explicitly instead, like

v=spf1 a mx a:mail.gaownersclub.com ~all

but up to you. use the tools on openSPF and other places to check syntax and make sure everythings working, for now I'd put a very small TTL if I were you in case you have to change it -- if you put the wrong info in an SPF record you risk getting blocked by accident ;)

sunrunner_pei
01-04-2007, 06:52 AM
Thanks again, Seth, I'll look into it farther. :)